UW-Madison Home Division of International Studies
About Initiatives Programs Conferences Alumni Resources Calendar


About the Wisconsin China Initiative 

Recognizing the importance of China to the economic and political future of Wisconsin and the United States, the Division of International Studies has convened an exceptional group of faculty, alumni, and leaders in business and government to bolster research and teaching about China, to create new partnerships between Chinese higher education institutions and the UW-Madison, and to develop plans for strategic engagements between China and the State of Wisconsin. The goals of the China Initiative are to:

  • Build an efffective platform for UW engagement with the China region

  • Serve the Wisconsin Idea by disseminating knowledge beyond the classroom

  • Partner strategically withgovernment and businss groups across the Upper Midwest

  • Deepen and expand education and research about China

Contact Information

The Wisconsin China Initiative is housed in the Division of International Studies, which is located on the second floor of Bascom Hall.

For more information, contact Laurie Dennis (Division of International Studies staff), WCI Associate Director, at ldennis@international.wisc.edu (608) 265-6640, 254 Bascom.

Leadership Committee:

Joseph Dennis, professor of History and director of the Center for East Asian Studies

Wei Dong, professor of Design Studies, School of Human Ecology

Dan Gold, director of International Academic Programs, International Studies

Yu-hen Hu, professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering

Nicole Huang, professor of Chinese Literature and Visual Culture; East Asian Languages & Literature

Rania Huntington, professor and department chair, East Asian Languages & Literature

Jack Jiang, professor of otolaryngolgoy, Univ. of Wisconsin Medical Schol

Ken Kushner, professor of Family Medicine; Advisory Board Member, Global Health Institute

Melanie Manion, professor of Political Science and Public Affairs

Mark Meulenbeld, professor of Chinese religion and literature, East Asian Languages & Literature, College of Letters & Science

John Ohnesorge, professor of Law, University of Wisconsin Law School

Zhongdang Pan, professor of Communication Science, College of Letters & Science

Quitman Phillips, professor of Art History, College of Letters & Science

Kim Santiago, director of alumni relations, School of Pharmacy

Guanming Shi, Professor of Agriculture and Applied Economics, College of Agriculture & Life Sciences

Janet Silbernagl, professor and director, Environmental Conservation Professional Masters Program, Nelson Insitute for Environment al Studies

Lih-Sheng (Tom) Turng, professor of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering

Jerry Yin, professor of Genetics, College of Agriculture/School of Medicine and Public Health

Yongming Zhou, professor of Anthropology, College of Letters & Science

Laurie Dennis, associate director of the Wisconsin China Initiative

External Advisory Board:

Mr. Wade Fetzer, Board Chair
Retired Partner - Goldman Sachs and Company, Chicago

Dr. Paul DeLuca
Emeritus Provost, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Mr. Eric Etchart
President - Manitowoc Cranes, Manitowoc, WI

Mr. Frank Fan
Scientific Director, China Operations- Promega Corp., Madison, WI

Mr. Ed Gargan
Author and former Beijing (and later Hong Kong) Bureau Chief - New York Times, Beijing, P. R. China

Mr. Will Hsu
Vice President of Operations - Hsu's Ginseng Enterprises, Wausau, WI

Dr. Kirk Hwang
President - Chung Hwa Pulp Corp., Taipei, Taiwan

Mr. Frank Jesse Jr
Principal - Gray Plant Mooty Mooty and Bennett P A, Minneapolis

Mr. Charles H.C. Kao (Gao Xijun)
Founder and Chairman- Commonwealth Publishing Company, Taipei, Taiwan

Mr. Robert Kraft
Chairman and CEO - First Pathway Partners, Milwaukee

Dr. Nicholas Lardy
Senior Fellow - Peterson Institute for International Economics, Washington, DC

Dr. Connie Li 
CEO – TrafficCast International, Inc. Madison and Shanghai, P. R. China

Dr. Kening Li 
Chief of IP, Miller Canfield, Shanghai, P. R. China

Dr. Alan Y Lu 
Professor - Agricultural Economics, National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan

Ms. Sharon Mann 
Washington, DC

Mr. Phil Midland
President - IHS International, Washington, DC and Beijing, P. R. China

Mr. Alan Myers
Director - Credit Suisse, Northbrook, IL

Mr. Ulice Payne, Jr.
President - Addison-Clifton LLC, Brookfield

Ms. Mary Regel
President - Regel International, Madison

Mr. Rory Rochester
Exec. Vice President, International Medsurg Connection, Schaumburg, Ill.

Mr. Andrew T. Schutz
Associate - GDLSK LLC, Milwaukee

Mr. Thomas (Tom) Sternberg
Chairman - SKCG Group, White Plains, NY

Mr. Steve Wasser
Regional Integration Manager, North America (Parts, Accessories and Customization), Harley-Davidson Motor Company, Milwaukee

Dr. George Wilding
Professor - Carbone Cancer Center, UW School of Medicine, Madison

Mr. Scott Williams
Partner - McDermott Will and Emory LLP,Chicago

Dr. Albert Bak-Wei Wong 
Managing Director - Zigen Pharmaceutical Ltd., Hong Kong

Dr. Levin Zhu
CEO – China International Capital Corporation Ltd., Beijing, P. R. China



Copyright © 2011 Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System.

Wisconsin China Initiative, Division of International Studies, 500 Lincoln Drive, Madison, Wisconsin 53706

phone: 608.265.6640 email: ldennis@international.wisc.edu